During a live or replay session, EEGer displays averages for each trace of EEG data. This value is a weighted average based on the data recorded throughout that session and current stage.

If artifact was introduced in that time, that data will influence your average values. To help maintain accuracy, a feature was added on version 440s that automatically resets the averages (and several other values & internal counters) when certain actions happen during the session.

Example: When a user presses F5 to begin a session or stage, the average values ‘forget’ the data that came before that F5 key press. The new average value is calculated based only on the data recorded during live training. This results in more accurate data being displayed, which can help provide better feedback.

For this feature to work, several internal counters & values have to be reset to ensure accurate recording of data. This includes resetting some of the values that the software and the amplifier use to filter out non-EEG data.

For some models of amplifiers this recalibration can cause the signal to fluctuate for a few seconds. This is especially noticeable on some repaired amplifiers, or amplifiers with sensitivity to electrical interference. In some cases, it may take upward of 10 seconds for the signal to return to expected levels. In these cases disabling this feature can result in more accurate data being recorded.

In most cases, we recommend leaving this feature enabled as it results in more accurate values in almost all circumstances. If you are experiencing issues with signal response time or quality, please contact EEG Store for assistance. In some situations, EEG Store may recommend disabling this feature to help with troubleshooting amplifier issues, or to improve signal response time.

How Is This Feature Disabled?

  1. Open EEGer and navigate to Options>EEGer Configuration Options from the top toolbar of EEGer’s main screen.
  2. Click on the Special tab along the top of the options menu.
  3. Locate the checkbox for 15 NOT reset history data on F5 (use whatever was there).
  4. Check the box for this line and press Close preferences window in the bottom right to return to save the configuration and return to EEGer’s main screen.
Knowledge Base Article Tags: